Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

European Physical Society prize for R. J. Dwayne Miller

MPSD director R.J. Dwayne Miller is to receive the 2018 European Physical Society (EPS) Prize for Laser Science and Applications in recognition of his work on the SurePIRL project. The Picosecond Infrared Laser (PIRL) technology allows for more precise and tissue-conserving surgery with effectively no scar formation as well as the ex-vivo and in-vivo analysis of biological tissue. This analysis makes it easier to accurately identify the tissue which is being operated on and could lead to far less invasive surgery.

R.J. Dwayne Miller

The EPS awards the prize to Prof. Miller “for achieving the fundamental limit to minimally invasive surgery with complete bio diagnostics for surgical guidance.” The Society aims to promote the advancement of physics in Europe and in neighbouring countries.

Prof. Miller is a founding director of the MPSD, where his group studies the primary processes of molecular reaction dynamics. In addition to his work at the Institute, he holds a professorship at the University of Toronto. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Chemical Institute of Canada, the Optical Society of America, and the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) – and a member of CUI.

R.J. Dwayne Miller has received numerous scientific awards, including the Rutherford Medal in Chemistry, an Advanced Grant of the European Research Council for the SurePIRL project, the E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy of the American Chemical Society, and the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Centenary Prize 2016. Text: MPSD, ed.