Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

Cluster of Excellence

Advanced Imaging of Matter


The world is not static. This simple perception directly leads to one of the greatest challenges of modern science: observing the movement of the elementary building blocks of nature.

Ultrafast Processes in Slow Motion

Atoms, molecules and electrons move, form bonds between each other and break apart unimaginably fast. Scientists at “The Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging” (CUI) observe and try to understand these ultrafast processes directly on the atomic level of detail. The cluster of excellence “The Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging – Structure, Dynamics and Control of Matter at the Atomic Scale” was funded from 1. November 2012 until 31. December 2018. It is succeeded by the new cluster “Advanced Imaging of Matter”, which started operating on 1 January 2019.

Observe, understand, control

Functionalities are at the heart of the cluster of excellence „Advanced Imaging of Matter“. Atoms bind together and form solids, molecules interact and react – new functionalities emerge with increasing complexity and growing system size. 160 scientists from different disciplines such as physics, chemistry, and structural biology have joined forces to observe, understand, and control these processes. Teams of Universität Hamburg cooperate with scientists of the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), the Max Planck Institute for the  Structure and Dynamics of Matter (MPSD), and the European XFEL GmbH (XFEL).

Detailed information will follow soon.

————————————————

The above photo shows the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) on Campus Bahrenfeld where part of the cluster’s scientists do their research (Credit: CUI, Adler). The photo of the construction site for the HARBOR research building (left) leads to a webcam (Credit: Sprinkenhof / Nickl & Partner Architekten).

Hauptmenü anzeigen Hauptmenü ausblenden

Exzellenzcluster

Advanced Imaging of Matter

Die Natur ist nicht statisch. Diese einfache Erkenntnis führt direkt zu einer der spannendsten Herausforderungen der heutigen Wissenschaft: Die Bewegung von elementaren Bausteinen der Natur direkt zu beobachten.

Ultraschnelle Prozesse in Slow Motion

Atome, Moleküle und Elektronen bewegen, verbinden und lösen sich in sehr kurzen Zeiträumen. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher am „The Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging“ (CUI) beobachten diese ultraschnellen Prozesse direkt auf atomarer Ebene, um sie zu verstehen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde der Exzellenzcluster „The Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging – Structure, Dynamics and Control of Matter“ vom 1.11.2012 bis zum 31.12.2018 gefördert. Die Nachfolge hat am 1.1.2019 der neue Cluster „Advanced Imaging of Matter“ angetreten.

Beobachten, verstehen, kontrollieren

Funktionalitäten stehen im Zentrum des Exzellenzclusters „Advanced Imaging of Matter“. Atome binden sich zu Festkörpern, Moleküle inter- und reagieren – mit zunehmender Komplexität und Größe eines Systems entstehen neue Funktionalitäten. Um diese Prozesse zu beobachten, zu verstehen und zu kontrollieren, haben sich 160 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Physik, Chemie und Strukturbiologie zusammengeschlossen. Dabei kooperieren Forscherinnen und Forscher der Universität Hamburg mit Teams des Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), des Max-Planck-Instituts für Struktur und Dynamik der Materie (MPSD) und der European XFEL GmbH (XFEL).

Detaillierte Informationen folgen in Kürze.

————————————

Das Foto oben zeigt das Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) auf dem Campus Bahrenfeld, in dem ein Teil der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Clusters forscht (Foto: CUI, Adler). Das Foto des HARBOR Bauprojekts (links) führt auf eine Webcam (Foto: Sprinkenhof / Nickl & Partner Architekten).